Aaron Rodgers Wins 2014 NFL Most Valuable Player

Was this MVP Award deserving over J.J. Watt?

Saturday night, NBC held the 4th Annual edition of their NFL Honors with Seth Meyers serving as host. Along with roasting Johnny Manizel and others in attendance, Seth provided plenty of hilarity before tonight’s much-anticipated game, NFL Super Bowl XLIX. The story of the night, however, was Aaron Rodgers winning his second NFL MVP Award (first since 2011). Many felt the award should’ve gone to J.J. Watt, who single-handedly won the Houston Texans many games on the defensive end to a respectable 9-7 record in the regular season.

The defensive-end didn’t go home empty handed, becoming the first ever unanimous winner for defensive player of the year. To no surprise, Odell Beckham Jr. walked away with rookie of the year honors, while DeMarco Murray ran away with offensive player of the year. Above, a very humbled Aaron Rodgers opens up on the tough journey he endured this season, leading the Green Bay Packers to one game of the Super Bowl – but was hindered by a strained left calf he played through most of the season. After you watch the acceptance speech, take a look at the complete list of winners, including this year’s Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2015.

FedEx Air & Ground Players of the Year: Aaron Rodgers, QB, Green Bay Packers; Le’Veon Bell, RB, Pittsburgh Steelers

AP Offensive Rookie of the Year: Odell Beckham Jr., WR, New York Giants

AP Offensive Player of the Year presented by Surface: DeMarco Murray, RB, Dallas Cowboys

Salute To Service Award Presented by USAA: Jared Allen, DE, Chicago Bears

AP Coach of the Year presented by Lenovo: Bruce Arians, Arizona Cardinals

Art Rooney Award presented by Bose: Larry Fitzgerald, WR, Arizona Cardinals

AP Defensive Rookie of the Year: Aaron Donald, DT, St. Louis Rams

AP Assistant Coach of the Year: Todd Bowles, Arizona Cardinals

Don Shula HS Coach of the Year: Bruce Larson, Somerset (Wisconsin) High School

“Greatness on the Road” Award presented by Courtyard: Tony Romo, QB, Dallas Cowboys

AP Defensive Player of the Year: J.J. Watt, DE, Houston Texans

Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2015: Junior Seau, LB; Tim Brown, WR; Jerome Bettis, RB; Charles Haley, DE/LB; Will Shields, G; Bill Polian, contributor; Ron Wolf, contributor; Mick Tingelhoff, C

NFL.com Fantasy Player of the Year presented by SAP: Le’Veon Bell, RB, Pittsburgh Steelers

Deacon Jones Award: Justin Houston, OLB, Kansas City Chiefs

AP Comeback Player of the Year: Rob Gronkowski, TE, New England Patriots

Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year presented by Nationwide: Thomas Davis, LB, Carolina Panthers

Bridgestone Performance Play of the Year: Odell Beckham Jr.’s amazing one-handed 43-yard touchdown catch

Keys to Super Bowl XLIX Victory for Seahawks & Patriots


  • Share this :